© Ansonlobo
© Ansonlobo

EU announces 2017 women innovators prizewinners

The winners of the 2017 Horizon 2020-funded EU Prize for Women Innovators were announced in Brussels, Belgium, on International Women’s Day (8 March).

Commissioner Carlos Moedas and European Parliament Vice-President Mairead McGuinness announced the four winners.

The winners of the 2017 EU Prize for Women Innovators include:

Moedas said: “The winners of this year’s EU Prize for Women Innovators are truly inspiring. Europe needs more women innovators like them, with great ideas and the courage and determination to take risks and succeed.

“The innovations that the four winners have brought from idea to market are remarkable not only from a business point of view, but because they will benefit and improve the lives of many people in Europe and beyond.”

McGuinness added: “This prize demonstrates the significant contribution of women innovators in bringing many life-changing innovations to the market. It is very fitting that on this International Women’s Day 2017 we recognise and celebrate their entrepreneurial spirit and achievements; we do so in a very visible way to give inspiration to other women and, in particular, to young women and girls to look towards innovation and entrepreneurship.”